Langue: en

Version: 14 Mar 2007 (openSuse - 09/10/07)

Section: 8 (Commandes administrateur)


rpc.gssd - rpcsec_gss daemon


rpc.gssd [-f] [-n] [-k keytab] [-p pipefsdir] [-v] [-r] [-d ccachedir]


The rpcsec_gss protocol gives a means of using the gss-api generic security api to provide security for protocols using rpc (in particular, nfs). Before exchanging any rpc requests using rpcsec_gss, the rpc client must first establish a security context. The linux kernel's implementation of rpcsec_gss depends on the userspace daemon rpc.gssd to establish security contexts. The rpc.gssd daemon uses files in the rpc_pipefs filesystem to communicate with the kernel.


Runs rpc.gssd in the foreground and sends output to stderr (as opposed to syslogd)
By default, rpc.gssd treats accesses by the user with UID 0 specially, and uses "machine credentials" for all accesses by that user which require Kerberos authentication. With the -n option, "machine credentials" will not be used for accesses by UID 0. Instead, credentials must be obtained manually like all other users. Use of this option means that "root" must manually obtain Kerberos credentials before attemtpting to mount an nfs filesystem requiring Kerberos authentication.
-k keytab
Tells rpc.gssd to use the keys found in keytab to obtain "machine credentials". The default value is "/etc/krb5.keytab".
Previous versions of rpc.gssd used only "nfs/*" keys found within the keytab. To be more consistent with other implementations, we now look for specific keytab entries. The search order for keytabs to be used for "machine credentials" is now:






-p path
Tells rpc.gssd where to look for the rpc_pipefs filesystem. The default value is "/var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs".
-d directory
Tells rpc.gssd where to look for kerberos credential files. The default value is "/tmp".
Increases the verbosity of the output (can be specified multiple times).
If the rpcsec_gss library supports setting debug level, increases the verbosity of the output (can be specified multiple times).




Dug Song <>
Andy Adamson <>
Marius Aamodt Eriksen <>
J. Bruce Fields <>